Bridgestone Potenza S007A Sizes & review

6
1160

Select Your Tire Size on Tirerack

The Potenza S007A is Bridgestone’s Extreme Performance Summer tire developed for the drivers of sports cars, performance sedans and modern muscle cars who want motorsports-level performance for their warm weather vehicles. Designed to provide maximum capability in warm, dry and wet conditions, the Potenza S007A, like all Extreme Performance Summer tires, is not intended to be serviced, stored nor driven in near-and below-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

Beginning with a summer-focused compound to maximize adhesion with the road, the Potenza S007A is molded into a straight-rib, asymmetric pattern. The low-void design optimizes rubber-to-road contact in the footprint, and the wide, stiff ribs provide immediate steering response and high levels of ultimate traction. The notched, outboard shoulder delivers confident lateral grip for high-speed cornering, and the low angle sipes reduce tread squirm for added control.

The Multi Round Block design creates higher contact pressure for traction in wet conditions, and the chamfered blocks provide a flatter contact surface while braking to reduce dry and wet stopping distances. Wide circumferential grooves allow water to flow through the footprint, improving resistance to hydroplaning.

Internal construction of the Potenza S007A consists of a polyester casing supporting two high-strength steel belts. A high-stiffness, aramid flipper is inserted into the sidewall (depending on size) to provide faster steering response and improve sensitivity to inputs. The high turn-up casing results in a two-ply sidewall, and a hybrid aramid and nylon reinforcement ply further improves handling and provides high-speed capability.

Note: Tires exposed to temperatures of 20 degrees F (-7 degrees C) or lower must be permitted to gradually return to temperatures of at least 40 degrees F (5 degrees C) for at least 24 hours before they are flexed in any manner, such as by adjusting inflation pressures, mounting them on wheels or using them to support, roll or drive a vehicle.

Flexing of the specialized rubber compounds used in Extreme Performance Summer tires during cold-weather use can result in irreversible compound cracking. While compound cracking is not a warrantable condition because it occurs as the result of improper use or storage, tires exhibiting compound cracking must be replaced.

SIZEUTQGMAX.
LOAD
Max. Inflation PressureTread DepthTire WeightRim Width RangeMeas. Rim WidthSect. WidthTread WidthOverall Diam.Revs. Per Mile 
205/55R16
94Y
240 A A1,477 lbs50 psi9.2/32"22 lbs5.5-7.5"6.5"8.4"7"24.9"837
225/50R16
92Y
240 A A1,389 lbs51 psi9.2/32"24 lbs6-8"7"9.2"7.3"24.9"837
205/45R17
88Y
240 A A1,235 lbs50 psi9.2/32"20 lbs6.5-7.5"7"8.1"6.8"24.3"859
215/45R17
91Y
240 A A1,356 lbs50 psi9.2/32"21 lbs7-8"7"8.4"7.3"24.6"845
225/45R17
94Y
240 A A1,477 lbs50 psi9.2/32"23 lbs7-8.5"7.5"8.9"7.6"25"835
235/45R17
97Y
240 A A1,609 lbs50 psi9.2/32"24 lbs7.5-9"8"9.3"7.9"25.3"822
245/40R17
91Y
240 A A1,356 lbs51 psi9.2/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.3"24.7"843
245/45R17
99Y
240 A A1,709 lbs50 psi9.2/32"24 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"8.3"25.7"812
265/40R17
96Y
240 A A1,565 lbs51 psi9.2/32"27 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"9.1"25.3"822
205/40R18
86Y
240 A A1,168 lbs51 psi9.2/32"20 lbs7-8"7.5"8.4"6.8"24.5"852
225/40R18
92Y
240 A A1,389 lbs50 psi9.2/32"22 lbs7.5-9"8"9.1"7.8"25.1"831
225/45R18
95Y
240 A A1,521 lbs50 psi9.2/32"25 lbs7-8.5"7.5"8.9"7.6"26"803
225/45R18
95Y
240 A A1,521 lbs50 psi9.2/32"25 lbs7-8.5"7.5"8.9"7.6"26"803
225/50R18
95Y
240 A A1,521 lbs51 psi9.2/32"26 lbs6-8"7"9.2"7.7"26.9"775
235/40R18
95Y
240 A A1,521 lbs50 psi9.2/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"7.8"25.4"820
235/40R18
95Y
240 A A1,521 lbs50 psi9.2/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"7.8"25.4"820
235/50R18
101Y
240 A A1,819 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs6.5-8.5"7.5"9.7"8"27.3"764
245/35R18
92Y
240 A A1,389 lbs50 psi/32"24 lbs0-0"  8.5"  
245/35R18
92Y
240 A A1,389 lbs50 psi9.2/32"24 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.5"24.8"841
245/40R18
97Y

XL


2017 Production


240 A A1,609 lbs50 psi9/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.4"25.7"810
245/40R18
97Y

XL


 


240 A A1,609 lbs50 psi9/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.4"25.7"810
255/35R18
94Y
240 A A1,477 lbs50 psi9.2/32"26 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.7"25"833
255/35R18
94Y

XL


2017 Production


Pendinglbspsi/32"26 lbs0-0"     
255/40R18
99Y

XL


2017 Production


240 A A1,709 lbs50 psi/32"26 lbs0-0"  8.6"  
255/40R18
99Y

XL


 


240 A A1,709 lbs50 psi9.2/32"26 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.6"26"801
265/35R18
97Y

XL


 


240 A A1,609 lbs50 psi9.2/32"26 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"9.3"25.3"823
265/40R18
101Y
240 A A1,819 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"8.9"26.3"791
265/45R18
104Y

XL


 


240 A A1,984 lbs50 psi9.2/32"30 lbs8.5-10"9"10.5"8.9"27.4"760
275/35R18
99Y

XL


 


240 A A1,709 lbs50 psi9.2/32"27 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"9.5"25.6"815
275/40R18
103Y

XL


 


240 A A1,929 lbs50 psi9.2/32"30 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"9.5"26.7"782
275/45R18
103Y

SL


 


240 A A1,929 lbs51 psi9.2/32"31 lbs8.5-10.5"9"10.8"9.3"27.7"750
285/30R18
93Y

SL


 


240 A A1,433 lbs51 psi9.2/32"26 lbs9.5-10.5"10"11.4"10.1"24.7"841
225/35R19
88Y

XL


 


240 A A1,235 lbs50 psi9.2/32"22 lbs7.5-9"8"9.1"7.7"25.2"825
225/40R19
93Y

XL


 


240 A A1,433 lbs50 psi9.2/32"24 lbs7.5-9"8"9.1"7.5"26.1"798
235/35R19
91Y

XL


 


240 A A1,356 lbs50 psi9.2/32"24 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8"25.5"818
235/40R19
96Y

XL


 


240 A A1,565 lbs50 psi9.2/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"7.9"26.4"788
245/35R19
93Y

XL


2017 Production


240 A A1,433 lbs50 psi/32"25 lbs0-0"  8.3"  
245/35R19
93Y

XL


 


240 A A1,433 lbs50 psi9.2/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.3"25.8"808
245/40R19
98Y

XL


 


240 A A1,653 lbs50 psi9.2/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.3"26.7"779
245/45R19
102Y

XL


 


240 A A1,874 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"8.2"27.7"753
255/30R19
91Y

XL


 


240 A A1,356 lbs50 psi9.2/32"24 lbs8.5-9.5"9"10.2"9.1"25"831
255/35R19
96Y

XL


2017 Production


Pendinglbspsi/32"27 lbs0-0"     
255/35R19
96Y

XL


 


240 A A1,565 lbs50 psi9.2/32"27 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.8"26"801
255/40R19
100Y

XL


 


240 A A1,764 lbs50 psi9.2/32"27 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.6"27"770
255/45R19
104Y

XL


 


240 A A1,984 lbs50 psi9.2/32"29 lbs8-9.5"8.5"10"8.1"28"742 
265/35R19
98Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,653 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"9.1"26.3"791 
265/40R19
102Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,874 lbs50 psi9.2/32"30 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"8.8"27.3"760 
275/35R19
100Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,764 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"9.5"26.6"784 
285/35R19
99Y


SL


 


240 A A

 


1,709 lbs51 psi9.2/32"31 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"9.8"26.9"775 
295/30R19
100Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,764 lbs50 psi9.2/32"27 lbs10-11"10.5"11.9"10.4"26"801 
305/30R19
102Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,874 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"10.7"26.2"793 
325/30R19
101Y


SL


 


240 A A

 


1,819 lbs51 psi9.2/32"33 lbs11-12"11.5"13"11.9"26.7"779 
235/35R20
92Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,389 lbs50 psi9.2/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"7.9"26.5"788 
245/35R20
95Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,521 lbs50 psi9.2/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.5"26.8"778 
245/40R20
99Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,709 lbs50 psi9.2/32"27 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"9.2"27.7"751 
245/40R20
99Y


XL



2017 Production


240 A A

 


1,709 lbs50 psi/32"27 lbs0-0"  9.2"   
245/45R20
103Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,929 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"8.3"28.7"727 
245/45R20
103Y


XL



2017 Production


Pendinglbspsi/32"28 lbs0-0"      
255/40R20
101Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,819 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.7"28"743 
255/45R20
101Y


SL


 


240 A A

 


1,819 lbs51 psi9.2/32"30 lbs8-9.5"8.5"10"8.5"29"717 
265/35R20
99Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,709 lbs50 psi9.2/32"29 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"9"27.3"762 
265/40R20
104Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,984 lbs50 psi9.2/32"31 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"8.8"28.3"736 
275/30R20
97Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,609 lbs50 psi9.2/32"29 lbs9-10"9.5"10.9"9.8"26.5"785 
275/40R20
106Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


2,094 lbs50 psi9.2/32"33 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"9.3"28.7"727 
285/35R20
100Y


SL


 


240 A A

 


1,764 lbs51 psi9.2/32"32 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"9.7"27.9"747 
295/30R20
101Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,819 lbs50 psi9.2/32"28 lbs10-11"10.5"11.9"10.3"27"772 
295/35R20
105Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


2,039 lbs50 psi9.2/32"31 lbs10-11.5"10.5"11.9"9.8"28.1"741 
305/30R20
103Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,929 lbs50 psi9.2/32"29 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"10.8"27.2"765 
305/35R20
104Y


SL


 


240 A A

 


1,984 lbs51 psi9.2/32"32 lbs10-12"11"12.3"9.4"28.4"733 
315/35R20
110Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


2,337 lbs50 psi9.2/32"34 lbs10.5-12.5"11"12.6"10.8"28.7"727 
335/25R20
103Y


XL


 


240 A A

 


1,929 lbs50 psi9.2/32"31 lbs11.5-12.5"12"13.5"12.7"26.6"783 

6 COMMENTS

  1. The TireRack team helped me find these tires and we are thrilled with them. As the STi has a bit of a harsh ride, these tires have helped quiet our time on the poorly maintained Michigan highways and afforded some spirited back-road fun as well. Note to STi purists, these are on 18′ BBS rims. we have the 19′ original rims but swapped them out because of our Michigan roads.

  2. bought a set of S007A as a hopefully longer lasting replacement for the RE-71E (great tire). used the RE-71E last season mainly auto crossing & trip to sites. Got about 77 runs little less than a minute long with an additional 1500-2000 mile on roads. mostly ran on concrete surface with extreme grip & abuse. RE-71E handled very well & is an outstanding tire. S007A is far from a replacement for the RE-71E. First event on track with the S007A (55-60 degrees on cloudy day in January in Alabama) under dry conditions very loose as driving on ice. Went back following month with more thought into problem thinking it was just too much tire pressure. Car & times improved some but still was loose and far from the RE-71E grip from last season & when we had a light rain it got much worst. so when the RE-71E become unavailable due to being discontinued it will be time to buy from another manufacturer.I don’t see the S007A ever performing as well as the RE-71E can.

  3. We run our car in low budget endurance events, Lemons, Champ Car, etc. We had excellent service with the Potenza RE11s, but when they were no longer available we tried the RE71’s. There is not doubt the RE71’s were a better tire, but they would not make a 2 day endurance event (ours did because we broke 2 hours in the on the first day, we ran all day on the 2nd day for a total of 9 hours and the tires were worn to the belting). I had read that the 007’s were the replacement for the RE11’s so we gave them a try at the 24 hour race here in Houston in November. They performed perfectly. The actually seem better on track the RE11’s, with a really crisp turn in and a gradual break away. We bought 6 for the Lemons race because it was a true 24 hour event. We simply bolted a new pair on the fronts at the 12 hour mark (+/-). The rears with 24 hours on them look like the fronts did with 12. All of the tires are in good enough shape to make a track day or track weekend. The 007’s don’t wear quite as well as the RE11’s, but they are sticky(er) and clearly a set of 4 will make the typical 15 hour 2 day race with nothing but rotation over night.Cheers!

  4. These are very good tires. Good handling and responsiveness. Very good around turns. So far no issues in wet weather. Though I don’t push it in the rain too much. But so far good handling in braking in wet weather. Haven’t hydroplaned yet.

  5. I purchased this tire before tirerack did it’s review, hoping it would be a longer lasting RE71R. It is not anywhere close to any other extreme performance tire I’ve used. Just look at the shoulder blocks, and you can see the huge grooves for hydroplane resistance. Even the PSS, PS4s and Continental ECS have less voids on the shoulders. The braking on these tires are great, grip is decent, but handling, response and feedback is disappointing. The main reason I gave it such low reviews is that the day after I had these installed, I did a 2 hour canyon run and there was already 1mm of tread used up (tire comes with 7mm tread). Aside from the ECS, I haven’t had any of the other tires (RS4, RS-RR, SX2, PSS) wear this fast under spirited use.

  6. My 2017 supercharged Mustang GT has 770 horsepower or around 655 RWHP. My last set of tires (rear are 325/30/R19) were michelin pilot super sport since I thought the same tires that came on a corvette would hold. They slipped all of first, second, and 4000+ RPM in third gears no matter what the temperature, even at 90 degrees F. These Potenza 007 tires at 80 degrees Fahrenheit with a road of at least 70 degrees F actually ‘almost’ held 3rd gear. They do almost hold 4th gear in the rain. In the cold, they slip even in 4th a little. They also last much better than the previous tires I had for some reason as I now have almost 7000 miles on them and they still have some treads on them. When I received them, they only had 7/16″ instead of the advertised 9/16″ tread for some unknown reason, but the tread lasts much longer than even the original pirelli p-zero and the MPSS that didn’t hold 3rd as good as these tires. Overall, these are the best tires I’ve had for traction and still kind of work in the rain here in South Florida. However, 1st and 2nd gears just spin these tires, 3rd ‘almost’ holds in a straight line on the street. The new Tesla P100D with all wheel drive can go 0-60 faster unless I get better traction than these tires. Therefore, my next set of tires is going to be a Mickey Thompson Street SS that somebody told me will hold in 2nd gear on a normal asphalt street, but probably only last 1/2 of the distance (like 3000 to 4000 miles) than these S007 tires. Also, with my 295/30R19 on the fronts, I can take a right angle turn at almost 40 MPH on the street. I hate to blow $900 on tires every 6 months, or $500 in gas every month, or $150 on an oil change every 3000 miles, but I LOVE to hit 100 MPH in 7 seconds ish and beat just about all vehicles (like most motorcycles) on the street, even if they paid over $100K for their ‘exotic’ sport cars. Overall, I definitely recommend this tire. Brandon

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here