Goodyear Eagle F1 Supercar 3 Sizes & review

7
335

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Supercar 3 is Goodyear’s Extreme Performance Summer tire originally developed for the Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE and Camaro ZL1 and designed for enthusiast drivers who want a tire with the grip and handling to match their high-performance, high-powered vehicles. The Eagle F1 SuperCar 3 is engineered to excel on the street or track in warm, dry and wet conditions, and like all Extreme Performance Summer tires, it is not intended to be serviced, stored nor driven in near-and below-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

Utilizing a high-grip, race-inspired tread compound provides the Eagle F1 Supercar 3 with impressive traction in dry and wet conditions, and the asymmetric pattern allows Goodyear to tune the tire for optimal performance. The massive, low-void outboard shoulder provides immense lateral grip for confident high-speed cornering, while the solid center rib delivers direct and responsive handling. The inboard shoulder features full-depth sipes and more void area to help evacuate water from the footprint for confident traction in wet conditions.

The racing-derived construction of the Eagle F1 Supercar 3 is designed to be lightweight, reducing unsprung mass from the vehicle for enhanced steering and handling precision, in addition to temperature stability. The two-ply, rayon casing features a high turn up for a three-ply sidewall that further improves steering response. Two wide, steel belts and a polyamide reinforcement ply support and stabilize the tread for high-speed capability and handling.

Note: Tires exposed to temperatures of 20 degrees F (-7 degrees C) or lower must be permitted to gradually return to temperatures of at least 40 degrees F (5 degrees C) for at least 24 hours before they are flexed in any manner, such as by adjusting inflation pressures, mounting them on wheels, or using them to support, roll or drive a vehicle.

Flexing of the specialized rubber compounds used in Extreme Performance Summer tires during cold-weather use can result in irreversible compound cracking. Compound cracking occurs as the result of improper use or storage, and Goodyear’s warranty specifically excludes tires exhibiting this condition from coverage. Any tires exhibiting compound cracking must be replaced.

SIZEUTQGMAX.
LOAD
Max. Inflation PressureTread DepthTire WeightRim Width RangeMeas. Rim WidthSect. WidthTread WidthOverall Diam.Revs. Per Mile
245/45ZR17
99Y
220 AA A1,709 lbs50 psi9/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.6"8.4"25.7"814
245/40ZR18
97Y
220 AA A1,609 lbs50 psi9/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.6"25.7"813
255/40ZR18
99Y
220 AA A1,709 lbs50 psi9/32"27 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.8"26" 
265/40ZR18
101Y
220 AA A1,819 lbs50 psi8/32"28 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"6.6"26.3"793
275/35R18
95Y
220 AA A1,521 lbs51 psi8/32"28 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"10"25.6"818
275/40ZR18
99Y
220 AA A1,709 lbs51 psi8/32"28 lbs9-11"9.5" 9.4"26.7"784
235/35ZR19
91Y
220 AA A1,356 lbs50 psi9/32"23 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8.8"25.5"821
245/35ZR19
93Y
220 AA A1,433 lbs50 psi9/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.9"25.8"810
245/40ZR19
98Y
220 AA A1,653 lbs50 psi9/32"27 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.8"26.7"782
255/40ZR19
100Y
220 AA A1,764 lbs50 psi9/32"27 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.9"27.1"773
265/35ZR19
98Y
220 AA A1,653 lbs50 psi8/32"28 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"9.7"26.3"793
265/40ZR19
102Y
220 AA A1,874 lbs50 psi8/32"29 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"9.4"27.4"764
275/40ZR19
101Y
220 AA A1,819 lbs51 psi8/32"31 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"9.7"27.7"755
285/35ZR19
103Y
220 AA A1,929 lbs50 psi8/32"30 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"10.5"26.9"777
295/30ZR19
100Y
220 AA A1,764 lbs50 psi8/32"30 lbs10-11"10.5"11.9"11.2"26"803
305/30ZR19
102Y
220 AA A1,874 lbs50 psi8/32"31 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"11.6"26.3"796
325/30ZR19
105Y
220 AA A2,039 lbs50 psi8/32"33 lbs11-12"11.5"13"12.3"26.7"782
245/35ZR20
95Y
220 AA A1,521 lbs50 psi9/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"9"26.8"781
245/45ZR20
103Y
220 AA A1,929 lbs50 psi9/32"28 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.6"8.4"28.7"729
255/40ZR20
101Y
220 AA A1,819 lbs50 psi9/32"29 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"9.1"28"746
255/45ZR20
105Y
220 AA A2,039 lbs50 psi9/32"30 lbs8-9.5"8.5"10"8.2"29.1"719
275/40ZR20
106Y

XL


 


220 AA A2,094 lbs50 psi8/32"32 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"9.9"28.7"729
285/30ZR20
(95Y)

SL


2017 Production


220 AA A1,521 lbs51 psi7/32"29 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"10.6"26.8"781
285/30ZR20
(95Y)

SL


 


220 AA A1,521 lbs51 psi7/32"29 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"10.6"26.8"781
285/35ZR20
100Y

SL


 


220 AA A1,764 lbs51 psi8/32"32 lbs0-0"  10.5"  
295/30ZR20
101Y
220 AA A1,819 lbs50 psi8/32"31 lbs10-11"10.5"11.9"11.2"27"774
305/30ZR20
(99Y)

SL


2017 Production


220 AA A1,709 lbs51 psi7/32"31 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"11.5"27.2"767
305/30ZR20
(99Y)

SL


 


220 AA A1,709 lbs51 psi7/32"31 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"11.5"27.2"767
305/30ZR20
(99Y)

SL


2016 Production


220 AA A1,709 lbs51 psi7/32"31 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"11.5"27.2"767
305/35ZR20
104Y

SL


 


220 AA A1,984 lbs51 psi8/32"34 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.3"11.2"28.4"767

7 COMMENTS

  1. This tire was designed to be a dual purpose street/track tire, it does that really well. If you never put your car on the track there are likely better tires our there for you. My first set made it to 13,000 miles, 1 road rally and 10 track days and let me tell you for a street tire the grip is excellent. The wet grip and hydroplane resistance is pretty non existent below 50% life, but you should expect that for a track tire this wide. Did I mention this is one of the cheapest tires in this size? If you want longer life, better wet grip and dont track your car then look elsewhere. If you want to drive to, beat the pants off some Porcshes at the local road course and then drive home, then this is the tire for you.

  2. This is a track tire made to be street driven during late spring through early fall. About as much stick as a MPSC2, but with better wear and better durability. I have driven these tires on track several times. Of those times, once was in extreme heat (95F+, no clouds) and once in “normal” summer temperature, but on/off raining. In extreme heat, these tires do not give up – they do not get noticeably grease lap-after-lap. On a wet surface, or during light rain, these tires do OK if you are able to keep heat in them (i.e. warm/hot out, or able to input slip often through cornering); however, these tires do not do well with much standing water and will become pretty slippery if not able to reach/be at operating temperature, even if a surface is only wet (during late spring, all summer and early fall this is not an issue). The Camaro has TC, SC and an E-diff, so, even in cooler conditions, the car is able to keep it’s composure; but if used on a vehicle without these aids, you will need to keep yourself aware.Overall, a FANTASTIC value for a track/street tire! Slightly better wet traction would be nice (but not at the expense of the dry traction and overall durability). Also, it’s too bad these don’t come in more sizes – I’d love these in 19’s!

  3. These were stock on my SS 1LE (like most of the other reviews). They had impressive grip and steering response after about the 200 mile mark (tires rubbed in). I haven’t tracked them yet so I can’t comment there, but I expect to be impressed. I did get caught in the rain a couple times and these tires required modest driving to stay planted, but didn’t seem unsafe. However, I could see this tire being prone to hydroplaning as it nears end of life. Road noise is present, but doesn’t overwhelm. I would absolutely recommend these tires for a performance vehicle used in primarily dry conditions or track / HPDE events.

  4. These tires take performance to a new level, they can hold sustained high lateral grip & si stable. This is the only tire that you can push theto the limits of grip. I’m able to hold over 1g lateral with these tires & no sudden loss of grip. Only problem is once worn down a bit in rear, car likes to kick out a lot.

  5. These tires came on my 2018 Camaro SS 1LE. They are now down to the cords after 7,800 hard miles which includes two track days, a couple road trips, a half day of hooning on a dry lake bed, and a few thousand miles of very spirited mountain/canyon driving. As expected, they do wear quickly but considering the abuse I’ve put them through, it’s hard to complain. Performance is fantastic on dry roads. They stick like glue, steering response is sharp, and they communicate well. They’re also very predictable and progressive as they lose grip which makes them a joy to drive hard. Track performance is incredible lap after lap with minimal performance degradation or greasiness. As others have stated, these tires are lacking in wet weather performance. They hydroplane easily and don’t have high ultimate grip, but it’s a small price to pay for incredible dry performance. I highly recommend these tires and will be buying them again.

  6. I have had three blowouts with these tires so far. I have just recently switched to the Bridgestone Potenza S007A because of the good reviews, great grip, good price, and I was tired of replacing the Goodyears. The final straw for me was when I tried to get my third blowout replaced and Goodyear wouldn’t cover it with their warranty. I used Tire Racks’s road hazard replacement instead, but I feel Goodyear should cover their poor quality tires. Every time the damage was a torn sidewall. I used these for daily drivers and track autocross driving. I would always get beat by guys with the Bridgestone RE-71’s at the track and autocross and the sidewall would blow while daily driving. So now I use the Potenzas for driving and have a separate set of tires for racing.

  7. Tires are great, they are soft so don’t expect high mileage, but they really do grip the road.Not nearly as happy with the fact that my new tires were produced over two years ago! With the volume of tires sold by Tire Rack I was shocked to find the date codes were over two years old. These tires last me about one year, so I will be purchasing several tires in the next few years from someone with “newer new tires” next time.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here