Michelin Pilot Sport 3 Sizes & review

7
458

The Pilot Sport 3 is Michelin’s Max Performance Summer tire developed as Original Equipment for premium high-performance sports cars, coupes and sedans. Based on Michelin expertise from over a dozen consecutive Le Mans 24-Hour Race victories, the Pilot Sport 3 is an eco-friendly sport tire with Green X branded on its sidewalls to guarantee it offers one of the best energy efficiency levels on the market. The Pilot Sport 3 is designed to balance tread life, fuel efficiency and road gripping performance in dry and wet conditions. However, like all summer tires, they are not intended to be driven in near freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

The Pilot Sport 3 features Michelin’s Green Power Compound to combine grip on wet surfaces with fuel savings and greater longevity. This compound is molded into an asymmetric tread design to enhance dry road response and cornering while Michelin’s Anti Surf System combines an optimized profile and tread grooves to cut through puddles and standing water to resist hydroplaning and deliver shorter wet braking distances.

The tire’s internal structure features Michelin’s Programmed Distortion tire architecture that uses digital technology to enhance driving enjoyment and steering precision. Twin steel belts reinforced with spirally wrapped polyamide are combined with a polyester casing to enhance ride quality and high-speed durability.

*Specific sizes featuring Green X Technology are identified as such on the Sizes tab, as well as on the tire’s Specs tab.

SIZEUTQGMAX.
LOAD
Max. Inflation PressureTread DepthTire WeightRim Width RangeMeas. Rim WidthSect. WidthTread WidthOverall Diam.Revs. Per Mile 
235/40ZR18
95Y
320 AA A1,521 lbs51 psi9/32"22 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8"25.4"819
235/40ZR18
95W
320 AA A1,521 lbs50 psi9/32"22 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8.2"25.4"819
235/40ZR18
95Y
320 AA A1,521 lbs51 psi9/32"22 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8"25.4"819
245/40ZR18
97Y
320 AA A1,609 lbs50 psi8.5/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.7"25.7"809
255/40ZR18
(99Y)
320 AA A1,709 lbs50 psi9.5/32"24 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"9.3"26"799
285/35ZR18
(101Y)
320 AA A1,819 lbs51 psi8.5/32"27 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"11"25.9"804
245/45R19
102Y
320 AA A1,874 lbs50 psi9/32"26 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"8.1"27.7"751
245/45R19
102Y
320 AA A1,874 lbs50 psi9/32"26 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"8.1"27.7"751
245/45R19
102Y
320 AA A1,874 lbs50 psi9/32"27 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6" 27.7"751
255/35ZR19
96Y
320 AA A1,565 lbs50 psi9.5/32"26 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"9.7"26"799,
255/40ZR19
100Y
320 AA A1,764 lbs50 psi9/32"29 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2" 27.1"769
275/40R19
101Y
320 AA A1,819 lbs51 psi9/32"28 lbs9-11"9.5"11"10"27.7"751
255/40ZR20
(101Y)

XL


MO Mercedes, Acoustic Tech


Eco:
Green X


 


320 AA A1,819 lbs51 psi9/32"29 lbs8.5-10"9"10.2"8.4"28"742
285/35ZR20
(104Y)

XL


MO Mercedes


Eco:
Green X


 


320 AA A1,984 lbs51 psi9.5/32"32 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"10.2"27.9"746

7 COMMENTS

  1. These were the OE tires on my Ford Focus Titanium. I bought the car used with 15K miles on it, and have driven it 9K miles myself. The tires seemed fine for the most part but were noisy and rough. Then, winter came along as I live in northern Illinois. These are the worst tires I have ever experienced in light snow in my 40 years of driving. If you will be driving anywhere that has ANY chance of snow, DO NOT buy these tires. Cars that have these tires need to stay in the garage over the winter unless you want to total your car. I blame Ford more than the tire actually as I see these are not rated for winter use. Why Ford even thought of putting these on anything other than a Mustang is beyond me. I had to buy a new set of tires (all season, other brand) and WOW what a difference, great to have traction again.

  2. These tires were original equipment on my car when I bought it in early 2014. This car isn’t driven very much, in fact, there aren’t even 30,000 on the car yet. These are nearly all highway miles. At 10,000 miles, one of these tires blew off the wheel at 55 mph. Luckily no accident occurred at this time but it was scary. The dealership said that there was a hole in the tire which caused it to heat up and separate completely at the sidewall. There was no warning. If the TPM light had come on, we would have pulled over, but it didn’t. A Michelin representative on the phone said that it wasn’t the tire that was faulty, with which I still disagree. I replaced that tire with another brand. My father used to swear by Michelin tires so I did too, until this happened. Now I am replacing the other 3 tires with the other brand as well because with not even 30,000 miles on the tires, the tread is so worn, they are unsafe. The tires have been rotated properly and maintained properly. The quality of this product is very low and the price moderately high. I do not recommend this tire or this brand anymore.

  3. I’m 4000 miles past what I was told I would get and I still have 2000 miles before I should really consider replacing. I like this tire even if I don’t drive the way the tire / car was designed to drive. The tires seems pretty quiet on the highway. I have zero complaint on how it handles in wet / dry conditions. If I had anything to say, it would be as the tires get worn, I find they are a bit harder to control when you drive is a road with some rutting. The car likes to track in the ruts so you have to fight it sometimes. I keep the tires at proper inflation all the time and rotate at every oil change (about 5000 miles). I will be buying the same tire again as I have no need for an all season tire living in central Florida.

  4. OE tire on the Focus Titanium handling package from 2012-2014. Awesome, sticky tires that really make the car. If you don’t believe me, look up road tests of Foci on Car and Driver’s website and compare braking distance of the 2012 with the 2015 which came with a different, all season tire. Would buy as replacement tires and I am thinking of putting a set on my Mazda 3.

  5. This tire is excellent for handling but poor in tire wear. Had to replace the tire at 23,000 miles, if you’re looking for a good durable tire with good response go with Continental.

  6. I am surprised the tires have lasted as long as they have. Ford told me 2 years ago I was ready for new tires… that was 10,000 miles ago and I still have the original set installed. I really like these tires, they do more than my driving style does. I have the same complaint though that some others have mentioned. As the tire gets close to its end, the tire becomes a bit harder to handle. My Focus has the sport suspension and the tires follow the ruts in the road and that makes it hard to steer now and then. I am in the market for new tires now and am considering these again. Only time will tell if I go with them or with another tire.

  7. Excellent tire except for one thing, wear. They corner excellent, handle rain no problem and look amazing doing it. I love these tires, I’m on my second set from start to finish. Expect to get around 20k of hard fun driving out these, anything more and your in for disappointment. Although the wear isn’t the best I will say it is one of the quietest tires I’ve owned and helps with gas due to it’s very low weight being an LRR. They are not cheap and forget about being an all year round tire if you live anywhere with white wet stuff. I run these as 3 season tire, they are horrid in the snow but they do perform better in the dry cold then even the super sports (Which I have on another car). If you don’t mind wear and are willing to sacrifice a sliver of sidewall performance for a bit more refinement then these are a better alternative then super sports.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here