Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Sizes & review

7
405

The Potenza RE050A is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to complement the performance of sports cars, sports coupes and sport sedans. While the Potenza RE050 is used as Original Equipment on the supercharged Mercedes-Benz S55 AMG sedan, a Potenza RE050A Scuderia version is used on the 12-cylinder Enzo Ferrari supercar, and a Run Flat version is used on the BMW Z4 sports cars and 5-Series sedans. The Potenza RE050A was developed to provide good traction along with responsive and predictable dry and wet road handling. It is not intended to be driven in near-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

On the outside, the Potenza RE050A features a high grip tread compound molded into an asymmetric tread design. A continuous center rib, large tread blocks and stable shoulder elements provide responsive handling, high-speed stability and traction on dry roads, while circumferential and lateral tread grooves are aimed to pump water out from under the tire’s footprint to minimize hydroplaning and aid wet traction.

A continuous circumferential rib adjacent to the inside shoulder blocks enhances wear quality to help reduce noise throughout the life of the tire, especially on cars with alignment settings that specify negative camber. Internally, the Potenza RE050A features twin steel belts reinforced by spiral-wrapped nylon to stabilize the tread area and enhance handling, high speed capability and ride quality while minimizing weight. The fabric cord body and hard rubber sidewall filler help blend uniform ride quality with steering response and lateral stability.

SIZEUTQGMAX.
LOAD
Max. Inflation PressureTread DepthTire WeightRim Width RangeMeas. Rim WidthSect. WidthTread WidthOverall Diam.Revs. Per Mile 
225/50R18
95W
140 A A1,521 lbs51 psi10/32"31 lbs6-8"7"9.8"9.3"27"772
235/40ZR18
(91Y)
140 A A1,356 lbs51 psi10/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8.6"25.5"817
235/40ZR18
(91Y)
140 A A1,356 lbs51 psi10/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8.6"25.5"817
235/40ZR18
(91Y)
140 A A1,356 lbs51 psi10/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8.6"25.5"817
245/45R18
96W
140 A A1,565 lbs51 psi10/32"28 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"7.9"26.7"780
265/40ZR18
(101Y)
140 A A1,819 lbs50 psi10/32"30 lbs9-10.5"9.5"11.2"10.1"26.3"792
295/35ZR18
(99Y)
140 A A1,709 lbs51 psi10/32"32 lbs10-11.5"10.5"12"11"26.1"798
225/40R19
89Y
140 A A1,279 lbs51 psi10/32"26 lbs7.5-9"8"9.1"7.6"26.1"798
225/40R19
93Y
140 A A1,433 lbs50 psi10/32"25 lbs7.5-9"8"9.5"8.1"26.1"798
225/40R19
89Y
140 A A1,279 lbs51 psi10/32"26 lbs7.5-9"8"9.1"7.6"26.1"798
235/35ZR19
(87Y)
140 A A1,201 lbs51 psi10/32"24 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.4"8.2"25.5"817
235/40ZR19
(92Y)
140 A A1,389 lbs51 psi11/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.6"8.7"26.4"790
235/40R19
96Y
140 A A1,565 lbs50 psi11/32"27 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.5"8.2"26.4" 
245/40ZR19
(94Y)
140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi10/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.1"26.7" 
245/40ZR19
(94Y)
140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi11/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.9"8.1"26.9"774
245/40R19
98Y
140 A A1,656 lbs50 psi10/32"26 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.1"26.7" 
245/40R19
94Y

SL


 


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi11/32"29 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.9"8.6"26.9"774
245/40R19
94W

SL


2017 Production


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi11/32"29 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.9" 26.9"774
245/40R19
94W

SL


 


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi11/32"28 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.4"8.6"26.8"777
245/40R19
94Y

SL


2017 Production


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi11/32"29 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.9"8.6"26.9"774
255/35R19
96Y

XL


AO Audi


140 A A1,565 lbs50 psi10/32"27 lbs8.5-10"9"10.5"9"26"801
255/35ZR19
96Y

XL


MO Mercedes


140 A A1,565 lbs50 psi11/32"28 lbs8.5-10"9"10"8.8"26.2"795
255/35R19
96Y
140 A A1,565 lbs50 psi10/32"27 lbs8.5-10"9"10.5"9"26"801
265/35R19
94Y

SL


 


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi11/32"29 lbs9-10.5"9.5"10.7"10.5"26.3" 
265/35ZR19
(94Y)

SL


N1(Porsche)


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi10/32"28 lbs9-10.5"9.5"11.3"9.7"26.3"792
265/35R19
94W

SL


 


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi10/32"31 lbs9-10.5"9.5"11.3"9.5"26.3"792
265/35ZR19
(94Y)

SL


N0(Porsche)


140 A A1,477 lbs51 psi10/32"30 lbs9-10.5"9.5"11.3"9.7"26.3"792
275/35R19
100Y

XL


TPC Spec


140 A A1,764 lbs50 psi10/32"30 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"10.5"26.5" 
275/35R19
96W

SL


 


140 A A1,565 lbs51 psi10/32"32 lbs9-11"9.5"10.9"10.2"26.5"785
285/30ZR19
98Y

XL


MO1 Mercedes


140 A A1,653 lbs50 psi11/32"30 lbs9.5-10.5"10"11.4"NA25.8"801
285/40ZR19
(103Y)

SL


 


140 A A1,929 lbs51 psi8/32"31 lbs9.5-11"10"11.5"10.1"27.8"749,

PL


295/30ZR19
(100Y)

XL


N0(Porsche)


140 A A1,764 lbs50 psi10/32"32 lbs10-11"10.5"12.3"11.1"26.1"792
295/30ZR19
(100Y)

XL


N1(Porsche)


140 A A1,764 lbs50 psi10/32"31 lbs10-11"10.5"12.3"11.1"26.1"792
305/30ZR19
(102Y)

XL


N1(Porsche)


140 A A1,874 lbs50 psi9/32"31 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.6"NA26.3"792
305/30ZR19
(102Y)

XL


N0(Porsche)


140 A A1,874 lbs50 psi9/32"33 lbs10.5-11.5"11"12.6"12.5"26.3"792
245/35R20
95Y

XL


 


140 A A1,521 lbs50 psi10/32"26 lbs8-9.5" 9.8"8.6"  
245/35ZR20
(91Y)

SL


 


140 A A1,356 lbs51 psi11/32"25 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.3"26.8" 
245/40R20
95W

SL


2017 Production


140 A A1,521 lbs51 psi10/32"30 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.5"27.7" 
245/40R20
95W
140 A A1,521 lbs51 psi10/32"30 lbs8-9.5"8.5"9.8"8.5"27.7" 
275/30R20
97Y

XL


 


140 A A1,609 lbs50 psi10/32"29 lbs9-10" 10.9"10.2"  
275/30R20
97Y

XL


2015 Production


140 A A1,609 lbs50 psi10/32"29 lbs9-10" 10.9"10.2"  
285/35ZR20
(100Y)

SL


 


140 A A1,764 lbs51 psi9/32"31 lbs9.5-11"10"11.4"10.3"27.9"747

7 COMMENTS

  1. If you lose traction with these tires on your car it is because of driver error or you are driving outright dangerously. These tires have never lost grip in any of my hooligan driving. When wet driving conservatively will still give you the traction you need. Then again you should not be driving dangerously in wet and snow anyway. My only complaint is the inability to use these tires during winter, but that was my mistake purchasing a front wheel drive car in a place where it snows every winter.10/10 will purchase again.

  2. I daily drive this car on highway and on local roads in Maryland, with lots of spirited driving mixed in. Very impressive traction and handling in the first 15-20,000 miles. After that, the tires were due for replacing. By around 24,000 miles, I was past the wear bars, which is plenty enough life for me out of a max performance summer tire. I’m at 27,005 miles now and have purchased new tires to be installed in a couple days. Wet performance was also pretty good not as impressive as dry traction perhaps compared to other tires. Unfortunately, it’s also a very expensive tire which is why I won’t be getting this tire again.

  3. Good tire for dry roads once you get a few miles on them, but maybe not as good as comparable Michelin – perhaps because harder rubber compound but not exactly sure. Not great steering on wet roads with the light front end on a rear drive heavy rear end 911. Rear tires worn out on inner edges because of the way the 911 sits with heavy rear end but lasted to 11,000 miles with some “spirited” driving which is pretty good. Front tires still good at 11,000 miles.

  4. These came stock on the chevy ss.They are right for this car. Very predictable dry and wet. Road abnormalities will cause them to pull a bit but I think thats more to do with the size of the tire and charicteristics of the car. Wear is no problem. I occasionally spin the rear. I don’t drage race and don’t abuse the car. I drive it in it’s compfort zone which, since it has a corvett engine, is broad. Although there are tires with better grip, I like the feel of a little give when I work the courners.Also these tires have good road transmission so I can feel whats going on.The biggest negative for me is the price (OEM) . That is the major turn off and will probably mean the similar tire but not OEM, or an all season since I drive through cold weather occasionally.

  5. Just switched off a set of RE050A after 30,000 miles on a Fiesta ST. Decent tread wear, still had a bit left at 30K. Very grippy in the dry and wet. I ran them through a couple of New Jersey winters as well and the performed half decent in slush and snow which was a surprise. Two complaints. Steering stability was awful. Lots of tram lining and the car was very darty and unstable in any type of bumpy corner. Ride quality is awful. Like riding on four bricks. Just mounted a set of BFG All Season comp TA, 205/45/17 on the stock rims and wet/dry traction appears similar but the stability and ride are greatly improved. Ultimate dry traction may give up some with the All Seasons but this is a street car, not used on track.

  6. These tires in the dry are incredible. I literally can not get them to break traction, no matter what I do. A handbrake turn won’t even get them to squeal. However, as soon as the rain starts or the leaves begin to fall, watch out. Traction in the wet is limited to put it nicely, and when you add in leaves on the ground and smatterings of muddy puddles, you can pretty much forget about driving quickly. We had our first snow unexpectedly early, and I did not have any winter tires, so I drove on these. I got stuck in my own driveway. In less than an inch of snow. Going uphill in my neighborhood I got passed by a prius as I began to slide backwards. I’m not faulting the tire for its poor performance in the snow- it was not designed to be used in the snow and this is explicitly stated in its description- I am merely offering my experience as a word of warning to any other drivers who think they might be able to skate by using a summer tire in late fall through early spring. Late April to early November, this tire is the best tire I’ve ever used, and I highly recommend it as long as you’re willing to switch to winter/snow tires for the winter.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here