Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac Sizes & review

7
845

Select Your Tire Size

31X10.50R15
33/1250R15

285/75R16
265/75R16
265/70R16

35X12.50R17
285/70R17
265/70R17

275/65R18
265/65R18

The Wrangler DuraTrac is Goodyear’s On-/Off-Road Commercial Traction light truck tire developed for the drivers of multi-purpose full-sized pickups, vans, sport utility and commercial vehicles looking for tires that play hard and work harder. The Wrangler DuraTrac is designed to be a versatile tire offering off-road competence in dirt, gravel and mud with on-road composure in dry, wet and wintry conditions.

Wrangler DuraTrac tires feature a rugged tread compound that helps resist tread block chipping, chunking and tearing, especially during heavy loading and towing applications. Its symmetric tread design combines large shoulders and highly angled center tread blocks to enhance stability and traction in dry and wet conditions. Self-cleaning, stepped shoulder blocks, zigzag sipes and Goodyear’s TractiveGroove Technology at the base of the circumferential grooves provide thousands of biting edges to enhance traction in deep mud and snow. Wrangler DuraTrac tires feature a rim lock that helps prevent wheel slip throughout the life of the tire and offers a built-in rim protector to help protect wheels from accidental damage on- and off-road.

Most Wrangler DuraTrac light truck tires are branded with the three-peak mountain snowflake (3PMSF) symbol to identify they meet the industry’s severe snow service standards. Specific sizes not meeting the industry’s severe snow service requirements are identified with a “Not Rated For Severe Snow” notation on the Specs tab.

Flotation LT and LT-metric-sized Wrangler DuraTrac tires are designed to accept optional #16 metal studs to enhance ice traction. Euro-metric-sized Wrangler DuraTrac tires are non-studdable.

Note: While non-winter tires featuring the three-peak mountain snowflake (3PMSF) symbol provide additional longitudinal snow traction beyond what all-season (M+S) tires not bearing the symbol can deliver, they do not match the capability of a true winter tire in all adverse weather conditions.

 

Select Your Tire Size

31X10.50R15
33/1250R15

285/75R16
265/75R16
265/70R16

35X12.50R17
285/70R17
265/70R17

275/65R18
265/65R18

SIZEUTQGMAX.
LOAD
Max. Inflation PressureTread DepthTire WeightRim Width RangeMeas. Rim WidthSect. WidthTread WidthOverall Diam.Revs. Per Mile 
LT235/75R15
104/101Q
None1,985 lbs50 psi18/32"36 lbs6-7"6.5"9.3"7.5"28.9"719
31X10.5R15LT
109Q
None2,270 lbs50 psi18/32"40 lbs7-9"8.5"10.5"8.6"30.5"685
33X12.5R15LT
108Q
None2,205 lbs35 psi18/32"49 lbs8.5-11"10"12.5"10"32.5"643
LT215/85R16
115/112Q
None2,680 lbs80 psi18/32"42 lbs5.5-7"6"8.5"7"30.4"684
LT225/75R16
115/112Q
None2,680 lbs80 psi18/32"42 lbs6-7"6"8.8"7.2"29.3"710
LT235/85R16
120/116Q
None3,042 lbs80 psi18/32"47 lbs6-7.5"6.5"9.3"7.7"31.7"656
LT245/75R16
120/116Q
None3,042 lbs80 psi18/32"45 lbs6.5-8"7"9.8"NA30.5"683
LT245/75R16
108/104Q
None2,205 lbs50 psi18/32"40 lbs6.5-8"7"9.8"7.5"30.5"683
255/70R16
111S
500 B B2,403 lbs51 psi16/32"38 lbs6.5-8.5"7.5"10.2"8"30.1"695
265/70R16
112S
500 B B2,469 lbs51 psi16/32"43 lbs7-9"8"10.7"8.3"30.6"682
LT265/75R16
112/109Q
None2,470 lbs50 psi18/32"45 lbs7-8"7.5"10.5"8.5"31.7"657
LT265/75R16
123/120Q
None3,415 lbs80 psi18/32"51 lbs7-8"7.5"10.5"9"31.7"657
LT285/75R16
126/123P
None3,750 lbs80 psi18/32"55 lbs7.5-9"8"11.3"8.9"33.1"634
LT315/75R16
127/124Q
None3,860 lbs65 psi18/32"65 lbs8-10"8.5"12.3"10.2"34.6"602
LT235/80R17
120/117Q
None3,085 lbs80 psi18/32"46 lbs6-7.5"6.5"9.6"7.7"31.8"654
245/70R17
110S

SL


 


500 B B2,337 lbs51 psi16/32"37 lbs6.5-8"7"9.8"7.6"30.6"683
LT245/70R17
119/116Q

E


 


None3,000 lbs80 psi18/32"46 lbs6.5-8"7"9.8"8.1"30.6"681
LT245/75R17
121/118Q

E


 


None3,195 lbs80 psi18/32"50 lbs6.5-7.5"7"9.8"7.7"31.5"660
255/75R17
115S

SL


 


500 B B2,679 lbs51 psi16/32"40 lbs6.5-8.5"7"10"7.5"32"653,
265/65R17
112S
500 B B2,469 lbs51 psi16/32"42 lbs7.5-9.5"8"10.7"8.4"30.6"683
265/70R17
115S

SL


 


500 B B2,679 lbs51 psi16/32"45 lbs7-9"8"10.7"8.2"31.7"659
LT265/70R17
112/109Q
None2,470 lbs50 psi18/32"44 lbs7-8.5"8"10.7"8.7"31.7"657
LT265/70R17
112/109Q

C


Studded


None2,470 lbs50 psi18/32"44 lbs7-8.5"8"10.7"8.7"31.7"657
LT265/70R17
121/118Q

E


 


None3,195 lbs80 psi18/32"51 lbs7-8.5"8"10.7"8.7"31.7"657
LT285/70R17
121/118Q

D


 


None3,195 lbs65 psi18/32"54 lbs7.5-9"8.5"11.5"9.1"33"635
LT285/70R17
121/118Q

E


 


None3,195 lbs80 psi18/32"55 lbs7.5-9"8.5"11.2"9.1"33"635
LT295/70R17
121/118Q

E


 


None3,195 lbs80 psi18/32"60 lbs7.5-10"8.5"11.6"9.7"33.5"621
LT315/70R17
121/118Q

D


 


None3,195 lbs50 psi18/32"61 lbs8.5-10"9.5"12.7"NA34.4"604
35X12.5R17LT
121Q

E


 


None3,195 lbs65 psi18/32"68 lbs8.5-11"10"12.5"10.1"34.8"598
255/70R18
116Q

XL


Not Rated For Severe Snow


320 A B2,756 lbs50 psi/32"42 lbs0-0"  8.4"  

DE


255/70R18
113S

SL


 


500 B B2,535 lbs51 psi16/32"41 lbs6.5-8.5"7.5"10.2"8"32.1"651
265/60R18
110S

SL


 


500 B B2,337 lbs51 psi16/32"42 lbs7.5-9.5"8"10.7"8.7"30.5"685
265/65R18
114S

SL


 


500 B B2,601 lbs51 psi16/32"46 lbs7.5-9.5"8"10.7"8.5"31.5"663
LT275/65R18
123/120Q
None3,415 lbs80 psi18/32"50 lbs7.5-9"8"11"9"32.1"648
LT275/65R18
113/110Q

C


 


None2,535 lbs50 psi18/32"49 lbs7.5-9"8"11"8.8"32.3"651
275/65R18
116S

SL


 


500 B B2,756 lbs51 psi16/32"45 lbs7.5-9.5"8"11"8.7"32.1"651
LT275/70R18
125/122R

E


Not Rated For Severe Snow


None3,640 lbs80 psi18/32"55 lbs7-8.5"8"11"9"33.2"627
LT275/70R18
125/122Q

E


 


None3,640 lbs80 psi18/32"55 lbs7-8.5"8"11"8.7"33.2"627
LT285/65R18
121/118Q

D


 


None3,195 lbs65 psi18/32"55 lbs8-10"8.5"11.2"9.7"32.8"634
LT285/65R18
125/122Q

E


 


None3,640 lbs80 psi18/32"56 lbs8-10"8.5"11.2"9.6"32.8"634
LT285/75R18
129/126Q

E


 


None4,080 lbs80 psi18/32"60 lbs7.5-9.5"8"11.2"9"35.1" 
LT295/65R18
127/124P

E


 


None3,860 lbs80 psi18/32"59 lbs8-10"8.5"11.8"9.7"33.1"628
LT295/70R18
129/126Q

E


 


None4,080 lbs80 psi18/32"59 lbs7.5-10"8.5"11.8"9.5"34.8"598
LT325/65R18
127/124Q
None3,860 lbs65 psi18/32"64 lbs9-12"9.5"13"10.7"34.6"601
35X12.5R18LT
118Q

D


 


None2,910 lbs50 psi18/32"62 lbs8.5-11"10"12.5"10.1"34.8"598
255/55R19
111Q

XL


Not Rated For Severe Snow


320 A B2,403 lbs50 psi16/32"41 lbs7-9"8"10.4"9"30" 

DE


255/65R19
114Q

XL


Not Rated For Severe Snow


320 A B2,601 lbs50 psi/32"42 lbs0-0"  8.4"  

DE


255/55R20
110Q

XL


Not Rated For Severe Snow


320 A B2,337 lbs50 psi16/32"41 lbs7-9"8"10.4"9"31.3"674

DE


255/60R20
113Q

XL


Not Rated For Severe Snow


320 A B2,535 lbs50 psi/32"43 lbs0-0"  8.7"  

DE


275/55R20
113T

SL


 


500 B B2,535 lbs51 psi16/32"46 lbs7.5-9.5"8.5"11.2"9.1"31.9"  
275/60R20
115S


SL


 


500 B B

 


2,679 lbs51 psi16/32"46 lbs7.5-9.5"8"11"9"33"633 
LT275/65R20
126/123Q


E


 


None3,750 lbs80 psi18/32"57 lbs7.5-9.5"8"11"9"34.1"610 
LT285/60R20
125/122Q


E


 


None3,640 lbs80 psi18/32"59 lbs8-10"8.5"11.5"9.7"33.5"622 
LT305/55R20
121/118Q


E


 


None3,195 lbs65 psi18/32"62 lbs8.5-11"9.5"12.4"10.5"33.2"626,
LT325/60R20
126/123Q


E


 


None3,750 lbs65 psi18/32"67 lbs9-12"9.5"13"11"35.4"588 
33X12.5R20LT
114Q


E


 


None2,600 lbs65 psi18/32"60 lbs8.5-11"10"12.5"10.6"32.8"634 
35X12.5R20LT
125Q


F


 


None3,640 lbs80 psi18/32"68 lbs8.5-11"10" 10"  

CL


7 COMMENTS

  1. I’ve had several sets of these tires. They’re ok on lightweight vehicles like the Jeep Liberty, etc., I’ve gotten 45k miles or so out of them on those vehicles (rotating them regularly) however, on a full size truck they’re lousy. My rating numbers in the different areas would be considerably higher if rating the tire when new, however they don’t stay new very long. I live on a few miles of gravel road (on which I drive 20 mph to avoid paint chips) and I’ve never had a tire tread chip and gouge as quickly and badly as these do. The tread was half gone at 12k miles, gone at 20k and I just had the first flat tire I’ve had in my LIFE (I’m 54 and drive 50k miles/year minimum) when the tread on the left rear just separated and left me stranded. Don’t ever buy these tires for a full size work truck, you’ll be sorely disappointed after 10k miles or so.

  2. Didn’t know what to expect – but am pleased with 65000. I see A LOT of these tires out there. Recently parked next to someone who had a brand new set – I quickly did the coin test on both and WOW – didn’t realize how low my tread depth is. Tires still look good. I usually don’t recommend anything to anyone – but if you need an affordable, quality set of Jeep or light truck tires – I’d say ‘Go For It.’

  3. I have had these tires for almost a year and they are extremely impressive off road and in deep snow! However, when it comes to light snow and rainy conditions on the road they aren’t very good. While it may be due to them being slightly over sized for the vehicle, if I give it any more than half throttle upon take off in the rain the traction control is activated, and when braking quickly in the rain for a yellow light or emergency situation the brakes are quick to lock up and ABS is needed. Overall I am impressed and if I could do more off roading than once a month I wouldn’t take any other tire because that is where these tires really shine!

  4. I got Duratracs for my lifted Jeep Liberty at about 70,000 miles on the odometer. I’m past 160,000 miles now and still rocking the same tires! I’ve never had a set of tires last this long. The tread is still above 40%, although at 6 years out I am starting to get some cracking in the rubber around the tread lugs. I do take my Jeep off road and I also tow, so i have not been overly easy on these tires. I did however buy 5 and kept them all rotated every 3-6000 miles, which contributes to the long life. My next set may be the only new tires my Jeep will ever need. At this rate I could hit 250K with them.

  5. 25k and counting. Good tire for sharp edged shale roads. Reasonable wear. Solid choice for heavier vehicles that are in and out of the woods regularly.

  6. I use these on three trucks. The dodge listed, a chevy 3/4 ton and a Ford Raptor. By far the best compromise tire for on/off road use in a snow region. I drive 50-80k miles a year in the industrial construction industry some of witch is on pounded out mine haul roads. Down side is the tread compound is soft for snow and ice so they burn off very fast on hot pavement.

  7. I have a set of these tires with studs. They are an excellent choice for a tire of this size with studs for winter conditions. For reference, these are used in the mountains in Colorado, and I only use these in the winter. They are probably the most recommended tire around the Jeep community up here. The only thing to watch is the tire softness. The qualities that make these great off-road and in snow mean they are likely to wear faster in hot conditions and dry highway driving.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here