Michelin Latitude Sport Sizes & review

6
461

The Latitude Sport is Michelin’s Street/Sport Truck Summer tire initially developed for Original Equipment (O.E.) use on some of the world’s most prestigious high performance crossover and sport utility vehicles (Audi Q7, Porsche Cayenne and VW Touareg). The Latitude Sport is designed to deliver world-class dry and wet road traction, handling and cornering but like all summer tires, it is not intended to be driven in near-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

Latitude Sport tires share the asymmetric tread pattern and dual tread compounds of Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 Max Performance Summer tires for passenger cars. It features a hybrid silica/carbon black compound that begins at the tire’s outboard shoulder and continues across the tread to enhance dry traction where a high-silica compound continues to the tire’s inboard shoulder to enhance wet traction. Large outboard shoulder blocks along with continuous intermediate and center ribs enhance steering response and cornering stability while wide circumferential grooves and lateral notches help channel water to enhance wet road traction. The tires’ internal structure includes two high-tensile, steel cord belts that are further reinforced by size-optimized, precisely placed individual aramid/nylon hybrid filaments that resist tire distortion to provide high-speed durability and enhanced ride quality.

SIZEUTQGMAX.
LOAD
Max. Inflation PressureTread DepthTire WeightRim Width RangeMeas. Rim WidthSect. WidthTread WidthOverall Diam.Revs. Per Mile 
255/55R18
109Y
220 AA A2,271 lbs50 psi10/32"33 lbs7-9"8"10.4"8.7"28"742
255/55R18
109Y
220 AA A2,271 lbs50 psi10/32"33 lbs7-9"8"10.4"8.7"28"742
275/45ZR19
108Y
220 AA A2,205 lbs50 psi8/32"32 lbs8.5-10.5"9"10.8"NA28.8"723
275/45ZR19
108Y
220 AA A2,205 lbs50 psi8/32"32 lbs8.5-10.5"9"10.8"NA28.8"723
275/55R19
111W
220 AA A2,403 lbs51 psi9/32"39 lbs7.5-9.5"8.5"11.2"8.9"30.9"673
245/45R20
99V
220 AA A1,709 lbs51 psi8.5/32"29 lbs7.5-9"8"9.6"8.4"28.7"726
255/55R20
110Y
220 AA A2,337 lbs50 psi8.5/32"34 lbs7-9"8"10.4"9"31"671
275/45R20
110Y
220 AA A2,337 lbs50 psi8.5/32"33 lbs8.5-10.5"9"10.8"10.2"29.8"699
275/50R20
109W
220 AA A2,271 lbs51 psi8.5/32"39 lbs7.5-9.5"8.5"11.2"9.2"30.9"674
275/50R20
109W
220 AA A2,271 lbs51 psi8.5/32"39 lbs7.5-9.5"8.5"11.2"9.2"30.9"674,
275/45R21
110Y
220 AA A2,337 lbs50 psi8.5/32"36 lbs8.5-10.5"9"10.7"9.4"30.8"676
295/35ZR21
107Y
220 AA A2,149 lbs50 psi8.5/32"31 lbs10-11.5"10.5"11.9"9.8"29.1"715

6 COMMENTS

  1. I selected these tires knowing they have a low tread wear rating. They look about 40% worn at 11k miles. That¿s fine with me because….they aren¿t particularly expensive for a premium tire, they give as much feedback as one could expect in a GL, and most importantly they have been very smooth riding and quiet. Prior set was the continental UHP which was excellent as well. The Conti¿s wore slower. They were 95% as smooth as the Michelins but the dry grip levels, steering feedback and noise were incrementally worse on the Contis. If you drive a little hard from time to time and don¿t mind having to change tires at 25k mi, the Michelin¿s are a good choice. Last thing, like the contis, they definitely provide that ¿Mercedes¿ comfort ride while preserving a measure of German steering accuracy. I¿ll try to follow up with a review once they are significantly worn. – BTW, this is a pure summer tire. I¿m in the northeast and I use winter tires on all my cars including the GL.

  2. These tires are a waste of money. They were bald after 18,000 miles. For $ 400 a tires I expect more. May well be that they are made for super high speeds, but how often do you drive 180mph plus w a Cayenne in the USA. Big waste of money.

  3. At almost 27,000 miles, I have 3.5 to 4mm tread left. I could go a few thousand more miles, but decided to replace now. I always kept air pressure at recommend settings. New identical tires including balancing was $1550.00

  4. These tires were OE on both my 2014 Ranger Rover Sport Supercharged and now my 2015 Range Rover Sport Autobiography. They are good tires for summer conditions. They are marked M+S (mud and Snow) on my car which is curious since they are completely worthless for even light snow. Again if you get any snow, even light snow you may be better advised to consider a real all season tire. 13,000 miles they look about 50% warn, so not so good in that regard, otherwise they are fine.

  5. I have an INFINITI with AWD, maybe that has something to do with my appreciation for this tire, I’m in Seattle area and have very wet Winters and very dry Summers. I bought my FX with 28K on it and the tires were relatively new (10/32 ish) at the time, but since my purchase I have put about 24K on them and I am down to about 6/32. I keep them inflated, and rotated frequently but I drive way more aggressive than “Spirited” and they have held up VERY WELL as far as I’m concerned for a 4600 lb sport cross over. I’m replacing them with the exact same time when it’s time.

  6. These tires are fine for smooth, dry roads. They are fair in heavy rain, and are a bad option for snow or ice. The tread wear is atrocious. They came as OE on my 2014 Range Rover Sport. At 25.000 miles, the tread is pretty much done. I would not get these again.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here